Illinois law prohibits drivers from operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. The legal blood alcohol limit for individuals who are of legal age to consume alcohol is 0.08, and a zero-tolerance law is in effect for those under the age of 21. This means that they could face criminal penalties if their blood alcohol level is higher than 0.02.
The potential penalties for a DUI conviction in Illinois
For a first offense, defendants who are at least 21 could lose their license for up to a year. Minors who are guilty of DUI for the first time will lose their licenses for up to two years. Furthermore, motorists of any age could face fines of up to $2,500 and spend up to a year in jail. Anyone convicted of drunk driving for a second time will lose their driving privileges for at least five years. If the second conviction comes within five years of the first, a defendant will need to complete 100 hours of community service and spend up to 48 hours in jail.
Open containers are not allowed in any vehicle
You may face a criminal charge if a police officer spots an open container of alcohol in your vehicle. In some cases, you could be cited for possessing an open container even if you’re riding in someone else’s car.
If you’re charged with DUI, it is important to speak with an attorney as soon as possible. A legal representative might take steps to get a case dismissed before it gets to trial or to negotiate a favorable plea deal. He or she may be able to cast doubt on a Breathalyzer test result, a police report or other evidence used to charge you with the crime.